Where the soil speaks

It’s been about two weeks since I’ve shifted base and I can’t help but feel out of place, still.

This is where I grew up, this is where I am supposed to feel at home, these are the people who I should be able to connect with; but I guess the pieces aren’t exactly fitting in its puzzle.

Well, for starters, I’m moving back to this place after about a decade now and needless to say that it’s nothing like what I remember it to be like.
It’s more crowded, shallow to the core, intolerant of the ‘other person’, expensive to no limit, and I can go on and on and on but again, every new place feels the same for an outsider.

Some say that the reason I find things difficult to accept here, is because I shifted with half a heart. Now you can call me patriotic or a fool, but there’s absolutely no way that you can leave your home, your country and your people to go and live elsewhere where you have no rights as a resident. Can you?

So then I thought of those who have lived away from their towns for ages trying to make a home away from home. Yes they’ve made a life for themselves, more money than they expected to make and continue to do so. And I have only one question for them, ‘Are you happy living away in another country?’

My point here is that why can’t you use your talents and knowledge where it’s more required? Why does our nose go sniffing money after we’re out of college? Why are we running behind travel agents and passport offices the minute our final results are out? When did this trend occur? And why isn’t it fading?

Do we have responsibilities towards our country or are these just words put together to frame a sentence that doesn’t mean anything?
What do you think? I’d like to know…

Picture courtesy: http://faithatthebeach.com/2013/04/23/feeling-out-of-place/

One thought on “Where the soil speaks

  1. Agree totally …. even if our country is known for not being the most comfortable to live in …. it is still mine …. I am in my own country. If you cannot do something to improve it then you cannot complain either. Those of you who return from abroad why do you start littering here, why to do break traffic rules, why do you offer bribe !!! It is your attitude …. yeh toh India hai yahan sab kuch chalta hai !!! that is what needs to change !!!!

Leave a Reply

